## MINK CONFERENCE MINUTES SATURDAY, APRIL 14, 2012

The 2012 Conference Chairmen Cindy Brinson and Darwin Thomas called MINK Conference to order. They in turn introduced Conference Co-Chairmen Lisa Miller and Steve Langton.

The State Flag presentation was held with Missouri flag being carried by Rick Labbee, State President Elect and Leslie Franklin, State President; Iowa flag was carried by State President Jake Roush; Nebraska flag was presented by State Presidents Kelly Davis and Bobbie Lowry; Kansas flag was carried by John Kaiser and Peggy Fellers, State Presidents; Dakota Flag was carried by Andy Anderson, State Vice President and Gerri Dooley, State Inside Guard. Music accompanied the opening flag ceremony provided by Shelley & Steve Zimmerman.

Carlene Corum, PGMP, who led us in the Pledge of Allegiance, presented the American flag. Larry Hanshaw, PGWP, carried the Canadian flag and Jean Kerr, PGMP of Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, gave the Canadian ode. Darwin Thomas, Iowa PSP, sang the national anthem. John Kipp, Iowa State Chaplain, gave invocation.

A presentation on flag duties and the folding of the American flag was orated by WCRP Marilyn Mintun and demonstrated by Larry Hanshaw and John Haidsiak, Iowa State Trustee

MINK Committee Chairman David Mattox gave remarks and introductions were made. Grand Representation seated at the head table were: Ron Stine, OH, Grand Aerie President Elect; Sally Villalva, CO, Grand Auxiliary President Elect; Grand Trustees, Darrell Rall, CA; Chuck Lang, ND; and Judy Johnson, KS. State Presidents or their representatives were introduced. Past Grand President's in attendance at the conference were: Doris Bateson, KS; Larry Hanshaw, IA; Carleen Corum, IA; Jim Roberts, KS; Jr. Past Grand President, Mike Lagervall, WA; and Jean Kerr, Canada. Additional guests to the MINK Conference were: Cliff Hanson, Canada; Pam Johnson, Canada; John Noldan, WA; and Dave Smith, Canada (dual Dakotas).

Roll Call of committee members found absent: Merrie Smalley, Nebraska; Bob & Addie Masenthin, Kansas; Kim Kremer and Betty Jo Hoeppner, DK. Secretary Coe moved that the minutes be approved as distributed (with a date correction) as they had been emailed, mailed and were included in the Registration packet received by all delegates to this conference. Motion was seconded. CARRIED.

Ray Measel, chairman reported no suggested by-law changes. The committee of Dennis Micek, John Haidsiak, Cliff Deverell and Sandy Patrzykont were introduced.

MINK State Presidents were called to speak on their state charity. Missouri – Dream Factory; Iowa is Muscular Sclerosis; Nebraska – Monroe Meyer Institute at the University of Nebraska; Kansas is the Cotton O'Neil Research Center for cancer; Dakota State Aerie is Home on the Range and the State Auxiliary Charity is Prevention of Child Abuse.

Secretary Coe gave announcements, which followed by a lunch break. Reconvene at 1:00 p.m.

## MINK CONFERENCE MINUTES SATURDAY AFTERNOON, APRIL 14, 2012

Conference chairmen Brinson and Thomas called the afternoon session to order. Scott Houghtaling, Grand Aerie Field Agent and Creighton Thurman, Grand Aerie Legal Advisor, gave a program on incorporation, taxes and employee tips – to the delegation. A question and answer session followed.

Next to the podium was Grand Aerie Trustee, Darrell Rall of South Gate, CA Eagles #2080 to speak to the conference delegation about the upcoming IRON EAGLE motorcycle ride for the benefit of the FOE Diabetes Research Center. Rall answered many questions posed by the delegation.

Representing the University of Iowa and all Eagle members attending the conference for the purpose of the FOE Diabetes Research Center update, were: Dr. John Stokes, Brenda Duello and Jackie Lewis. They presented a new video of the DRC building from its inception to present date. They thanked the MINK Conference for it's total commitment to the Diabetes Research Center and for all monetary donations, past and present.

MINK Grand Officers Judy Johnson and Chuck Lang spoke to the delegation. Grand Representatives Ron Stine, Sally Villalva and Darell Rall were also recognized to speak to the MINK delegation.

Secretary Coe made additional announcements. Both the hospitality room and the DRC Auction would begin 30 minutes following the close of Saturday's meeting.

Banquet doors will open at 6:00 p.m. with the banquet starting at 6:30 p.m.

Lois Coe, MINK Secretary